Off Topic > Everything Else

SEGAbits programming topic // master race code experts

(1/8) > >>

Happy Cat:
I'm in the process of increasing my understanding of JavaScript and thought it would be fun to see if there was any other programmers here on bits. Maybe we could help eachother and give advice on things we are stuck on. Even with different syntaxes, programming languages share the same core concepts.

If you aren't familar with programming languages and are feeling brave check out this ebook with examples you can interact with. it's great. Is what I am studying off of at the moment.

http://eloquentjavascript.net/index.html

also programmers are indeed the master race of our modern day world. without them.. well.. we'd be pretty screwed.

JRcade19:
Desktop Class reporting in.

"Some" Knowledge of Javascript
Average knowledge of C++
Above average understanding of Visual Basic(lol)
Currently self teaching C, soon to add Java.

Very basic knowledge of MS-DOS Assembly Syntax. Will probably seek to learn UNIX-style assembly for applicability.

Dev tool is currently Orwell Dev C++, or Visual Studio may add Netbeans(For Java) to supplant Eclipse, or switch to code::blocks. Vim and Cygwin may also be acquired however I'm unsure of those.

Randroid:
Yeah, I'm a web-dev professionally and a hobbyist Android Game developer (So decent with Java, C++ and C#). Good to see some devs here. Maybe we can make this thread a mini Stack.

JRcade19:
Might as well add some resources book wise. These are what I'm using.

The C Programming Language(Second Edition Post ANSI) - Colloquially known as "The C Bible". Frankly for such a small book, it's not leaving any stone untouched so far. It really is quite comprehensive. An old book granted(Current standard is C11) but it still remains a fascinating read as I go through it.