Author Topic: Just started playing Onimusha: Warlords  (Read 2457 times)

Offline cube_b3

• Total Meseta: 3
Just started playing Onimusha: Warlords
« on: August 26, 2011, 06:27:32 pm »
Ever have one of those nights where you just can't sleep?

I slept at 2 in the morning and woke up at 4 for sehri as I am fasting - in the month of Ramadan.

Unfortunately I couldn't go back to sleep, 3 hours later I gave on the prospect of sleep and got out of bed. I didn't really have any errands (as I'll be leaving for Texas in 2 days) except a meeting as 11 AM. So I started playing some SF4 an hour into it I was bored.

I try to balance one classic with one new game - my next game on the list is Uncharted but I lent it to a friend, so I had nothing to do...

I opened my seal Onimusha Essentials Collection and popped in the first game in the series.

It is obviously a game that was in development for PS1, the environments are tiny but beautiful.
The gameplay is a premature (if you can call it that) DMC version of DMC as it is purely set to the classic Resident Evil or more appropriately Dino Crisis 2 design template which means guns are replaced with swords.

I played the game for an hour and I am hoping it is a short game cause it doesn't look like it can hold me interest for long.

The games translation is terrible, not in a poorly translated way of the old days but in a disingenuous way. Fortunately you have the option to change to Japanese voices (as the english one is bad anyways) and I can more sense of what they are actually saying in the cut scenes. Unfortunately there is a major pit fall with that during the FMV cut scenes the subtitles don't show which was a major inconvenience in the opening cinematics and will be in future ones.