Author Topic: Sparking a new Sega Channel discussion.  (Read 4557 times)

Offline VicGChad07

• Total Meseta: 1
Sparking a new Sega Channel discussion.
« on: June 13, 2015, 06:34:33 pm »
~NEWBIE INBOUND~
Yes, I'm a newbie to SEGAbits, but I'm no newbie to Sega stuff. Played since I was half a year old. First game was Sonic the Hedgehog; I have both the American/European REV00 and the later Japanese/Korean REV01 in physical form.

I just recently bought a Scientific Atlanta Sega Channel Receiver Cartridge + AC Adaptor for myself to eventually tinker with, and I thought I could spark a new discussion of it. Thoughts? Memories? Other crap to say of it? Maybe an effort to make some sort of undisclosed fan revival project?

Here's some Internet Archive stuff I found to get things rolling: http://web.archive.org/web/19961220034114/http://www.sega.com/central/channel/whoweare.html

--Victor Golf Charles

Offline VicGChad07

Re: Sparking a new Sega Channel discussion.
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 05:53:08 pm »
Back again. Just got another Sega Channel Adapter (a Scientific Atlanta, Inc. version from 1995/06) with the standard fare in its original box -- Receiver Cartridge, In-Line Filter (that big block that must be fitted onto the Receiver Cartridge's Cable Input Terminal lest you want to violate an FCC Rule), AC Adaptor, Instruction Manual, and Registration Card. However, there's no Coupler or RF Coaxial Cables (which, based on what I've found after RTFM'ing, you're supposed to route the incoming cable transmission through the coupler and to both your Sega Channel Receiver Cartridge and your TV/VCR/Scientific Atlanta Digital Music Terminal; that way, you'd be able to easily switch from watching cable TV and playing Sega Channel).