Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice Launch Edition announced for the Americas


SEGA is at it once again with their launch editions. In the past we’ve seen everything from stickers to lanyards to art books. Now, Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice for the Nintendo 3DS will have its own launch edition featuring a collector’s box and a special DVD featuring three episodes from the TV series for $39.99. The episodes include “Chili Dog Day Afternoon”, “It Wasn’t Me, It Was the One-Armed Hedgehog” which features Metal Sonic, and the season one finale “It Takes a Village to Defeat a Hedgehog” which sees the introduction of Shadow the Hedgehog. The launch edition is, so far, exclusive to the Americas. This will mark the Sonic Boom TV series’ DVD debut in North America, as the UK has been seeing volume releases of the series with “Sonic Boom Volume 2: Hedgehog Day” releasing this past week.

Also revealed, though speculated by us for some time now, is that Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice will be playable for the first time at E3 in the SEGA of America/Atlus USA booth. Meanwhile, SEGA Europe will showcase the PC side of things and other games in a meeting room at the Concourse Level at booth OFMR 8413. It’s confusing, we know.

After the break, read the full press release.

LOS ANGELES, June 1, 2016 /PRNewswire/ — SEGA® today announced that its highly anticipated title Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice, hitting shelves September 27, will be at this year’s E3, where gamers and Sonic fans alike will be able to get their hands on the game for the first time. In time for Sonic’s 25th anniversary, the company also revealed it will include episodes of the hit TV seriesSonic Boom with the game’s upcoming release, giving fans the ultimate Sonic experience.  SEGA’s newest title which will be available on the Nintendo 3DS™ family of systems, will deliver all-new fire and ice gameplay elements that enables players to run through the game at top speed, or take their time with deeper exploration and puzzle play.  SEGA/ATLUS will be located in booth #4810 in the West Hall.

Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice – Launch Edition will include three episodes of the breakout hit animated series – Sonic Boom. The content will be available for the very first time on DVD in North America, packaged with each Launch Edition copy of the game.  Fan-favorite episodes included on the disc will include “Chili Dog Day Afternoon”, “It Wasn’t Me, It Was the One-Armed Hedgehog” which features an appearance by Metal Sonic, and the season one finale “It Takes a Village to Defeat a Hedgehog” which includes the infamous Shadow.

“This is a milestone year for Sonic, and part of the way we’re celebrating his 25th anniversary is by thanking fans with exciting promotions and content. This is the first time that we’re going to package a game with Sonic Boom episodes, and we feel it will serve as a special gift to the fans,” said Ivo Gerscovich, chief brand officer, SEGA of America.

Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice for Nintendo 3DS will be available in stores and in the Nintendo eShop throughout North America onSeptember 27, 2016 for $39.99 and is available for pre-order now at

About SEGA® of America, Inc.:
SEGA® of America, Inc. is the American arm of Tokyo, Japan-based SEGA Games Co., Ltd., a worldwide leader in interactive entertainment both inside and outside the home.  The company develops, publishes and distributes interactive entertainment software products for a variety of hardware platforms including PC, wireless devices, and those manufactured by Nintendo, Microsoft and Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.  SEGA of America’s website is located at

About Nintendo:
The worldwide pioneer in the creation of interactive entertainment, Nintendo Co., Ltd., of Kyoto, Japan, manufactures and markets hardware and software for its Wii U™ and Wii™ home consoles, and Nintendo 3DS™ and Nintendo DS™ families of portable systems. Since 1983, when it launched the Nintendo Entertainment System™, Nintendo has sold more than 4.3 billion video games and more than 680 million hardware units globally, including the current-generation Wii U, Nintendo 3DS and Nintendo 3DS XL, as well as the Game Boy™, Game Boy Advance, Nintendo DS, Nintendo DSi™ and Nintendo DSi XL™, Super NES™, Nintendo 64™, Nintendo GameCube™ and Wii systems. It has also created industry icons that have become well-known, household names such as Mario™, Donkey Kong™, Metroid™, Zelda™ and Pokémon™. A wholly owned subsidiary, Nintendo of America Inc., based in Redmond, Wash., serves as headquarters for Nintendo’s operations in the Western Hemisphere. For more information about Nintendo, please visit the company’s website at


9 responses to “Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice Launch Edition announced for the Americas

  1. Shinobi100 says:

    This is a little bit different than a bonus track in All-Stars Racings and a bonus sticker sheet in 3D Classics. This is a full blown collector’s edition for the normal price of a new 3DS game. I’m anxious to see from E3 demos if they made any improvements during the delay or just shelved it during that time like the rumors said.

    • Chaos says:

      This… Isn’t even close to a collectors edition. It’s almost like putting part of a soundtrack as a pre order bonus for a game.

    • Shinobi100 says:

      A collector’s box and a DVD. It’s a collector’s edition, albeit a basic one.

  2. IIRC, the ASRT and 3D Classics launch editions were the same price as a non-launch edition title (which, to my knowledge, ASRT didn’t see until months later and 3D Classics has yet to see). ASRT, however, was pre-Atlus USA. 3D Classics Collection, Project Mirai DX, Valkyria Chronicles Remastered and the upcoming 7th Dragon are all similar in that the launch editions were the only option on release and were not priced any higher.

  3. ChocoLand says:

    Is there new footage post-delay?

  4. fernandeath says:

    digital version for me

  5. When is the next sonic game title ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *